Impromptu Tortillas!

So, my boyfriend suggested today that we have wrap sandwiches for lunch, and it struck me that it was the perfect opportunity to make my homemade tortillas! I never got a chance to take a collective picture of the ingredients (flour, margarine, salt, and luke warm water), but I did save the website I got the recipe from:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/flour-tortillas-recipe/index.html

For a picture of the final outcome, see https://tinykitchenette.wordpress.com/2013/02/08/flour-tortilla/ !

Here’s how it went:

hgfk-19        2 1/2 cups of flour

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-2-9           1 stick of margarine

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-3-9           I mixed the flour and margarine with the luke warm water and a teaspoon of salt until it was a smooth dough.

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-4-5

I rolled the dough into three equal-sized balls and let sit for 20 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-5-5          I cut out pieces of foil to set the tortillas on. Then I took each dough ball and rolled it out into a 10 in circle (I don’t own a rolling pin, which is why it looks so lumpy).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-7-3       I slapped the tortilla dough onto a slightly greased pan on medium high heat and cooked each side until it is golden brown and crispy all around.

 

 

 

 

 

Good luck trying this recipe out, and I hope for your sake that you own a rolling pin! 🙂

One thought on “Impromptu Tortillas!

  1. Pingback: Flour Tortilla | tiny kitchenette

Leave a Reply

