The Making of Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

granola

 

Above are all the ingredients it took to make my homemade granola bars. I think it is safe to say that, while this recipe does produce some pretty tasty outcomes, it should really be called “chocolate chip granola chunks” , not “bars”. I’m not sure what I can do to solidify the recipe, other than maybe use a little more oil and honey next time. I still think it’s a fun recipe, and if anything else, it does make for some awesome chocolate chip granola! For a picture of the final product, see  https://tinykitchenette.wordpress.com/2013/02/09/chocolate-chip-granola-bites/ !

hgfk-2-10

I started by spreading 4 cups of quick oats onto a baking pan. I baked the oats at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-3-10        Once cooled, I  mixed the oats with  a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips…

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-4-6                     …a 1/3 cup of canola oil…

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-5-6          … 1/3 cup honey (in the future I would use more like 3/4 cup)…

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-7-4                 …and a handful of slivered almonds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

hgfk-8-4               I threw the whole mixture into a cake dish, patted it down, and baked it at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

One thought on “The Making of Chocolate Chip Granola Bars

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Granola Bites | tiny kitchenette

Leave a Reply

